SCIDA Board of Directors

The Schuyler County IDA is governed by an eight member board of directors appointed by the Schuyler County Legislature, seven of them voting members.

Carl L. Taber,  Chair

Carl TaberAppointed:   January 2003 – (6th) Three Year Term

Public Authority Training Date: March 2007, October 2010, June 6, 2012

Professional Experience and Qualifications:

Owner – Taber Hill Farms, Inc.

Community Service: New York State Emergency Medical Technician, Mecklenburg Volunteer Fire Company, Cornell Companions Volunteer

John Terry,   Vice Chair

John Terry 4Appointed: January 2018, (2nd) Three Year Term

Public Authority Training Date: June 2015, June 2018

Professional Experience and Qualifications:

Sole Proprietor Tax Preparation Services

Retired Senior Lecturer of Chemistry – Cornell University

Ohio State University – M.S., Chemistry

University of Pennsylvania – B.S., Chemistry

Community Service: Watkins Glen Housing Authority Board, Schuyler Hospital Foundation Board, Schuyler County Office of the Aging Volunteer

Carl Blowers, Schuyler County Legislature

Carl BlowersAppointed: January 2007 – (4th) Three Year Term

Public Authority Training Date: April 2007, May 2017, May 2020

Professional Experience and Qualifications:

Retired Vice Chairman – Jostens Inc.

Retired Vice President, Advanced Materials – Corning, Inc.

Boston College – B.S., Finance

Dartmouth College – Amos Tuck School of Business Administration – Executive Program

Community Service: Corning Community College Regional Board of Trustees, Schuyler Hospital Health Foundation Campaign Chair, Watkins Montour Rotary, Steuben County United Way Chair, Buckhannon WV Chamber of Commerce President, West Virginia Wesleyan College Corporate Centennial Endowment Fund Drive Chair, Arnot Art Museum Board

Margaret Lawrence, Treasurer

MJL_PortraitAppointed: January 2020, (2nd) Three Year Term

Public Authority Training Date: April 2017, March 2021

Professional Experience and Qualifications:

Director of Human Resources – Welliver, Inc.

Rochester Institute of Technology – Executive MBA

Elmira College – B.S., Business Administration

Community Service: The Arc of Schuyler County Board Secretary, CSS Workforce New York Board

Laury Ward, Secretary

AppoLaury's headshot 1 (1)inted: January 2018, (1st) Three Year Term (2nd)January 2023

Public Authority Training Date: February 2018, March 2021

Professional Experience and Qualifications:

President – Finger Lakes Wine Country Tourism Marketing Association, Inc.

West Virginia University – B.S., Journalism/Public Relations

Community Service: Clemens Center for the Performing Arts Board, Finger Lakes Tourism Alliance Board, Steuben County CVB Board

Mark Taylor, Member

Mark TaylorAppointed: January 2019, (3rd) Three Year Term

Public Authority Training Date: April 2015

Professional Experience and Qualifications:

Special Assignment – Corning Inc. Exploratory Markets and Technologies

Various Positions – Corning Inc. Science and Technology, Optical Networking, Specialty Materials and Strategic Growth

Stanford University – Ph.D., Geology

Massachusetts Institute of Technology -M.A., Management of Technology

Carlton College – B. A., Chemistry

Community Service: Municipal Electric and Gas Alliance (MEGA) Board Chair, Regional Science & Discovery Center President, Schuyler County Humane Society, Schuyler County Board of Elections

Chad Hendrickson, Member

Appointed: January 2019, (1st) Three Year Term

Public Authority Training Date: May 22, 2019

Professional Experience and Qualifications:

Lakewood Vineyards

Cornell University – LEAD NY

Community Service: Town of Reading Planning Board

 Kristin VanHorn AICP, LEED GA,

VanHorn_grey background_copy 2Appointed: January 2014

Public Authority Training Date: January 2014, March 2020

Professional Experience and Qualifications:

Director of Planning – Schuyler County

Penn State University – B.S., Landscape Architecture

Community Service: Finger Lakes Gateway CDC Board Chair, Southern Tier Central Regional Planning Board, Watkins-Montour Lions Club Board


Kevin Murphy, Emeritus


Executive Management:

Judy McKinney Cherry, CEcD, CFO/CEO

foto-1Professional Experience and Qualifications:

Internationally Certified Professional Economic Developer and Fellow Member

Cabinet Member and Director – State of Delaware Executive Department (Delaware Economic Development Office)

Director of Regional Business Operations: Info Systems, Inc.

Utah State University – B.S., Environmental Studies & Political Science

University of Oklahoma – Economic Development Institute

Community Service: CSS Workforce Board, Erie Canal Heritage Fund Board of Commissioners, Watkins – Montour Rotary Club

Governance Committee:

Mark Taylor, Chair
Laury Ward
Chad Hendrickson

Audit Committee:

Margaret Lawrence, Chair
Carl L. Taber
Carl Blowers

Finance Committee:

Carl L. Taber, Chair
John Terry
Margaret Lawrence